Category: Around The Circle

Harvard Forest Honors Biology Teacher

Biology teacher and Harvard University alumna Karen Anderson was recently honored  for her contributions to the Harvard Forest Schoolyard Ecology program. Specifically, she was recognized  for her nine years of dedicated project leadership of field ecology projects contributing to The Woolly Bully and the Hemlock Pest project led by Harvard Forest scientist, David Orwig.

Ms. Anderson’s Environmental Science class also went on a field trip to Harvard Forest.  Students shared their project data from the hemlock trees that grow on campus and met Dr. Orwig. The class saw first-hand the dramatic changes a tiny insect is making on giant hemlock trees in many parts of Massachusetts.

Congratulations to Ms. Anderson–our students thank you, and so does the environment!

Kakar Signs with Barton College

Congratulations to  student-athlete Jake Kakar ’17  on signing with Barton College!

Kakar, a 6’4” shooting guard, received a scholarship to play basketball for the Division II Barton Bulldogs. Located in Wilson, North Carolina, Barton College is a private liberal arts school with a strong athletics program. In 2007, the Men’s Basketball Team won the NCAA Division II Championship.

“I believe Barton College gives me the best opportunity to be successful,” says Kakar. “It was a perfect fit, and I hope to have an immediate impact on the court and in the community.”

Nicely done, Jake. We wish you every success!

NEH Award for History Teacher

History Teacher Amanda “Dettey” Bielizna has had some notable scholarly achievements of late. Mrs. Bielizna, who will receive her MA in History (double major in American History and Modern European History) from Providence College in May, recently received a prestigious award to attend the National Endowment for the Humanities Summer Institute.

She will attend “Rethinking the Gilded Age and Progressivisms: Race, Capitalism, and Democracy, 1877 to 1920.” The program will run June 25-July 21, 2017, at the University of Illinois at Chicago.

In addition to this honor, Mrs. Bielizna has also recently had two book reviews published in the New England Journal of History and five encyclopedia terms published in Reforming America: A Thematic Encyclopedia and Document Collection of the Progressive Era.

We’d also like to give Mrs. Bielizna a shout out for her work ethic–she certainly does an excellent job of getting it all done. Congratulations on your hard work and success!

Journalism Conference at Columbia

For the ninth consecutive year, our budding journalists made their annual trip to the Columbia Scholastic Press Association’s Spring Convention. The conference is sponsored by Columbia Journalism School and features seminars and workshops led by educators and professionals.

Dean of Students Alun Polga and Meaghan Quinn, advisor for The Muse (our literary magazine), chaperoned the trip. Both are also English teachers who serve as co-advisors for the online student newspaper, The Magnet. Student staff members of both The Magnet and The Muse attended the conference, which took place March 15-17 over Spring Break. The Magnet staff who came on the trip were: Editor-in-Chief Cassidy Polga ’17, Managing Editor Alexis Chapin ’17, Copy Editor Cecelia Messbauer ’17, and senior staff members Nicolette Peterson ’19 and Sarah Scott ’19. The Muse staff members in attendance were Editor Alana Ford ’17 and staff members Aurora Basnet ’19, Georgie Brown ’19, Craig Judicki ’19, and Cindy Nguyen ’19.

It wasn’t all work and no play…the group also took in the Broadway show Kinky Boots!

2016-17 Winter Sports Awards

We held our annual Winter Sports Awards event recently to honor some of our extraordinary student-athletes. Congratulations to those who received an award, and thank you to the teammates, coaches, and fans for your encouragement and support!

Most Valuable Player
Kacey Deecher  ’20 – Basketball
Dana Tate ’18  – Basketball
Jayden Holder ’20 – Basketball
Owen Albanese ’18 – Swimming

Most Improved Player
Jocelyn St. Onge ’18 – Basketball
Franck Kepnang Ndjong ’20 – Basketball
Jola Oke ’18 – Basketball
Rose Nguyen ’20 – Swimming

Coach’s Award
Emilee Auclair ’18 – Basketball
Austin Nzige-Nyambok ’17 – Basketball
Jayden Holder ’20 – Basketball
Whitney Peng ’17 – Swimming

Players’ Choice Award
Sarah Scott ’19 – Basketball
Jake Kakar ’17 – Basketball
Ethan Deecher ’18 – Basketball
Tim Yu ’17 – Swimming