Category: Around The Circle

Four MacDuffie Student Athletes Sign National Letters of Intent in Signing Ceremony

The MacDuffie School library was brimming with pride Friday evening as a crowd of parents, coaches and students gathered to witness The MacDuffie’s Student-Athlete National Letter of Intent Signing Ceremony.


Following brief words by Head of School Steve Griffin and Director of Athletics Meirion George during which they outlined the four student-athletes outstanding physical achievements, as well as expressed thanks to parents, coaches, teammates, and the MacDuffie community for their tireless support, coaches had an opportunity to speak and the signing began.


Ania Ludkiewicz, a senior from Granby, Mass, signed her letter of intent to Sacred Heart University, surrounded by family, teammates, and Coach Meirion George. She will join their soccer program as a freshman next fall.

James Bouknight, a senior from Brooklyn, N.Y. signed his National Letter of Intent to the University of Connecticut where he will join the basketball program this fall. He was one of two MacDuffie basketball players to sign their letter of intent that evening, the other, Ismael Massoud, a senior from New York, N.Y. will join Wake Forest University’s basketball team this fall. They were joined by teammates and Coach Del Rosario in celebration.

Michael Cruz, a senior from Chicopee, Mass. signed a letter of intent to AIC where he will enter their baseball program as a freshman next fall. He signed his letter surrounded by family, a crowd of teammates and Coach Neil Domer-Shank.



Sixteen MacDuffie Computer Science Students Participate in Bebras Challenge

Sixteen MacDuffie computer science students participated in the international Bebras Computing Challenge during November 2018. Trung Nguyen scored first place. Dung (Ryan) Doan took second, and Zixun (Bell) Wang captured third while Ningxuan (Cassidy) Lu and Gia (Cindy) Nguyen rounded out the top five scorers.

The Bebras Computing Challenge is organized in 30 countries around the world and introduces computational thinking to students. Each participant gets 45 minutes to answer 15 multiple-choice questions that focus on computational and logical thinking. Congratulations to our top scorers!




MacDuffie Mustangs New England Girls Soccer Champions

A stunning goal from 20 yards by Senior Ania Ludkiewicz midway through the first half was enough to win the 2018 New England Class C Girls Soccer Championship for the Mustangs.  After an exhausting 48 hours of travel together with a tough OT win yesterday, the girls did us all proud by producing a gutsy performance against a talented #1 seed Brewster Academy.  This was a special moment for our seniors in particular, but for the 8 girls who clinched their 4th Championship in their 5 years at MacDuffie, this was something truly remarkable.

Congratulations ladies, take a bow, your hard work and commitment has once again earned you the rewards.
The shot that won the game!